Pesto Flatbread….sort of :)

Summertime makes cooking a challenge due to the HEAT!! I find myself tired in the afternoons on my days off and not wanting to heat up my apartment by using the oven or stove top. My crock-pot yesterday even kept my apartment from being able to “chill off” when I turned on my apartment.

So evenings and mornings is when I do my baking. This morning I want to utilize a bunch of spinach I have as well as make something “bread like” because that makes me happy!!

What you need for this recipe is :

Spinach ~ cut into small ribbon like shapes

Basil ( I used fresh Blue Basil from my garden- my start purchased from my local farmers market) ~ minced

Garlic & garlic powder

Coconut Oil & Hemp Oil (I’m sure Olive oil could be substituted)

1 Egg

Coconut Nectar

Salt & Pepper

Baking Soda & Baking Powder

Almond Flour

Tapioca Flour

Brown Rice Flour

I LOVE this recipe because it is quick and easy!! I am sure you could duplicate this recipe but I was just making this for myself 🙂

20160626_113211.jpgPreheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Slice your spinach & mince your basil! Add as much as you’d like (for these portions I used 2 Tbs roughly of spinach and 1 Tbs basil) 1 minced garlic glove, salt & pepper. Mix this with 1 Tbs of Hemp Oil and let sit. This will be added on top of your raw dough before cooking.

Mix your dry ingredients including:

1/3 cup sifted almond flour, 1/4 cup tapioca flour & 1/4 cup brown rice flour

1/2 Tsp salt

1/4 Tsp Baking Soda

1/2 Tsp Baking Powder

1/4 -1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder

*Just a pinch of the freshly minced basil

Mix your Wet Ingredients including:

1 egg

2 Tbs Apple Cider Vinegar

1 Tsp Coconut Nectar

*Whisk these ingredients up really good and add them to the dry ingredients. Mix the dry & wet using a small mixing spatula until mixed & somewhat light & airy.

 

Prepare a cooking sheet with parchment paper ( I used brown unbleached found at my local whole food or health food store). Use the spatula to spread your dough evenly on the parchment paper. Then add your green “deconstructed pesto-y” mixture evenly on the top.

Place this in the oven to bake for just about TEN minutes! Yum!!

 

Published by Joyful Kitchen

There are many things to feel joyful about in life, and cooking clean, delicious meals is certainly one of them. Living with food restrictions, it is hard to find places to eat! I take gourmet, creative cooking home by creative meals that people who eat gluten, dairy and sugar free never thought they'd eat again!

Leave a comment